2024B Coaches


Read Hubbard - Co-Head Coach

Read Hubbard has been coaching youth lacrosse since 2007.  He coached DYLAX 6A and 7A for 6 years.  He has also coached FYL, RHINO Select, NJLY and WLC and CT Chargers.  Read focuses on enthusiasm, accountability and building good habits, in school and on the field.
Read played football and lacrosse at Harvard, He lettered all four years, was two-year starter at D and LSM in lacrosse, won an IVY Championship and beat Notre Dame in the NCAA tournament in1990.  In football. Read was an All-Ivy HM Tight End and lead his team in receptions and yards per catch senior year.
Read is a graduate of King School of CT.  He was a four-year starter, four-year all-league, two-year all-state in Lacrosse and two-year captain.  Read also played basketball and football, scoring over 1000 points, rushing for over 1000 yards and captaining both teams.  He was also Valedictorian and a National Merit Scholar.

Patrick russell - Co-Head Coach

Patrick Russell has been a volunteer coach in the New Canaan Youth Program for the past 16 years and has been a NCLA board member since 2010.   A native of Baltimore, MD, Patrick has played organized lacrosse since he was 5 years old.  He is the son of a coach - his father organized the first youth program in Catonsville MD.   He is a Graduate of Loyola Blakefield, MD - MIAA champs '83, '84, runner up '85.  Patrick was 1st Team All Metro in '85.  While in High School, Patrick played Ontario-based box lacrosse for three years.

After High School, Patrick attended Johns Hopkins and was a midfielder from '86-'89.  He started for three seasons.  In 1987, he helped the team win the NCAA National Championship.   In 1989, his senior year, the team would be runner-up to Syracuse.   Patrick was awarded the Taylor Cook Award - given to player with Best Attitude and Positive Influence on Team.

Patrick has served in higher-education development and is currently working at Fairfield University as a Development Director. Last year Coach Russell coached an Eclipse 2024 Team.